About Northern Corridor Economic Region

The Northern Corridor Economic Region (NCER) development programme is a Government initiative to accelerate economic growth and elevate income levels in the north of Peninsular Malaysia – encompassing the state of Kedah, Perak, Perlis and Pulau Pinang.

With its strategic location beside both the border of Thailand and the Strait of Malacca, along with over four decades of experience in meeting the needs of domestic and international investors, NCER is renowned as a business-friendly environment ideal for incubating enterprising new ventures.

The NCER Logo


The four stars that feature in the logo represent the four northern states: Kedah (represented by the red star); Perak (represented by the yellow star); Perlis (represented by the dark blue star) and Pulau Pinang(represented by the light blue star).

The symbolic choice of stars also represents a bright future for all the four states.

Business success is another element the stars epitomise. Investors are invited to make the smart choice of moving their business here; aim high and expect remarkable results.

Together, the logo elements symbolise the blossoming of the new sectors that will spearhead the growth and development of NCER.


To be a world-class economic region of choice by 2025 to invest in, to live in, to work, to acquire knowledge, to visit and to raise families in a safe, clean and sustainable environment.

The NCER States


KedahThe state of Kedah is located in the north-western part of Peninsular Malaysia and covers a total area of 9,425 square kilometres, including the island of Langkawi. Consisting primarily of flat, rice growing land, the area was known as Syburi while under Siamese influence. Pedu Lake, tucked away by the eastern border of the state, is also one of the largest man-made lakes in the country.


PerakPerak is the second largest state in Peninsular Malaysia, bordering Kedah and the Yala Province of Thailand. Ipoh, the state capital of Perak, was historically known for its rich tin-mining activities until the decline of global tin prices in the 80s severely affected the state economy. The royal capital of Perak is situated in Kuala Kangsar, where the palace of the Sultan of Perak is located.


PerlisPerlis is the smallest state in Malaysia. Located in the north of the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia, Perlis has the Thailand provinces of Satun and Songkhla on its northern border. The capital of Perlis is Kangar, while the royal capital is Arau. Another important town is Padang Besar, at the Malaysia-Thailand border. The main port is the small village of Kuala Perlis, which links primarily to Langkawi Island. Perlis is known for its natural beauty, where key tourist attractions such as a snake farm, a limestone cave, Gua Kelam, and the small but beautiful Perlis State Park can be found.


PenangPenang is located on the north-western coast of Peninsular Malaysia by the Strait of Malacca and is the second smallest state in Malaysia after Perlis. Penang, known as “The Pearl of the Orient” to many, is one of South-East Asia’s most famous islands, renowned for its culture, food and heritage. In order to preserve the heritage of Penang, modern structures are carefully built surrounding pre-war buildings – many of which were built more than 100 years ago. Penang was formally inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site on 7th July 2008.